Disclaimer: I got this book as part of Flipkart Blogger Review Program.

It’s been long since I’ve read a thriller so this one was much anticipated. Skyfire by Aroon Raman isn’t your typical thriller. (or maybe it is- depends on the kind you’ve been reading).

The beginning of Skyfire seemed too Dan Brown-ish and then some. And then it seemed like a cliche out of all the “change society” movies. But then, the book picked up its pace. And the plot got better, if a bit too twisty -though sometimes the author took way too much in building up a scene. Though the plot does neatly moves from acid rain to missing orphans to Dharma Initiative.

I do wish, however, that guessing the identity of the main antagonist wasn’t so easy. I liked how the author didn’t whitewash the reality of how life really is for a lot of street kids in India (and probably all over the world). The three main characters were really well written, and that to me is just as important as a good plot. And a plot that consists of reformed street kids, strange kidnappings, a mysterious robot, acid rains and elite government initiatives is a pretty damn good plot in my book!

I wish I could write further, but I don’t want to spoil the plot anymore for everyone. Lets just say that if you love reading thrillers and rooting for the good guys, no matter what the odds, you’ll love it.

Fiction/Thriller | Rs. 299 | 240 pages | Available on Flipkart IN

